Return to About Us

AELA’s Team

AELA's Core Team

Michelle Maloney May 2018

Dr Michelle Maloney

Co-Founder and National Convenor

Dr Michelle Maloney has a Bachelor of Arts and Law (Hons) from the Australian National University and a PhD in Law from Griffith University. As Co-Founder and National Convenor of the Australian Earth Laws Alliance, Michelle manages the strategic direction and governance of AELA, including the extensive partnerships and networks that AELA has with the legal, academic, indigenous and environmental advocacy communities. Michelle also designs and manages AELA programs and events, including the Australian Peoples' Tribunal for Community and Nature's Rights, and coordinates the work of more than 20 fantastic multi-disciplinary professional and student volunteers around Australia. Michelle is the Co-Founder and Director of the New Economy Network Australia (NENA); Co-Founder and Director of Future Dreaming Australia; Senior Adjunct Fellow, Law Futures Centre, Griffith University and a member of the Advisory Council, Global Alliance for the Rights of Nature. Michelle lives in Brisbane, Australia with her family and Ziggy the Wonderdog.

Read Michelle's profile and publications.

James Lee

Manager, AELA Programs and Operations

James Lee holds a Master of Environmental Management (MEM) from the University of New South Wales (UNSW) and has a background in art, music (BMus) and film studies (GradDip Film & TV). James has expertise in interdisciplinary approaches to addressing ecological challenges and his work explores the role that cultural practices can play in informing and supporting Earth-centred governance. James manages a range of AELA programs, including Greenprints Research, AELA Education and selected Earth Arts projects. James also oversees AELA's operational systems, including membership, event coordination, communications, and website development across several AELA programs.

Sarah Bashforth

Administration Manager

Sarah has more than a decade of experience in providing high level administrative support, having worked as a paralegal and office manager. Sarah manages AELA's administrative and events schedule, and supports AELA's National Convenor, staff and volunteers. She is passionate about protecting the environment and believes strongly in earth-centred governance. Sarah, originally from Brisbane, now calls Bundaberg home and is a volunteer for her local Landcare group. She is very proud to be a part of the AELA team.


Kelly Fulker

AELA Associate - Voicing the needs of our waterways

Kelly Fulker is an environmental scientist with over 25 years’ experience in waterway management on Noongar Boodja in the south-west of Western Australia. She is a passionate advocate for the rights of rivers and the voice of Noongar people as the traditional custodians of our waterways.

Kelly is passionate about weaving ancient knowledge and practices into contemporary river-care approaches and governance models. She is a certified NeurOptimal Neurofeedback practitioner, Intuition teacher, and Circle Keeper in restorative justice and peacemaking circles, with a focus on establishing non-hierarchical, self-organising business and community structures that support the needs of our waterways.

Kelly is an experienced facilitator, author, and environmental practitioner who has honed her skills working across the government, non-government and private sector. She works with Traditional Custodians, state and local government, researchers and the community to protect and restore our waterways, helping to ensure their survival for future generations to enjoy.

Karina Miotto

AELA Associate - Deep Ecology Specialist

Karina Miotto ( is an impact strategist in the environmental and changemaking fields. She lived in the Amazon Rainforest in Brazil for many years and worked with major NGOs. She was an editor of the O Eco website covering the 9 countries of the Amazon basin. She learnt Deep Ecology directly from Joanna Macy, Satish Kumar, John Seed and Stephan Harding. She has a Master's Degree in Holistic Science, at Schumacher College, England. She is also a TEDx organizer and TEDx speaker. During her 5 years in Australia, Karina lead projects, workshops and gave talks and classes to community groups, events, festivals, schools and universities. Her speaking engagements have spanned countries including England, Germany, New Zealand, United States, Chile, and Brazil, impacting hundreds of individuals worldwide. In 2024, she will expand her work throughout Europe.

Wamika Sachdev

Legal Associate, Gender and Earth Laws

Wamika Sachdev has a B.A, L.L.B from Gurugobind Singh Indraprastha University and an Advanced Masters in Public International Law from Leiden University’s Grotius Center, specialising in peace, justice and development. She is passionate about gender equality and environmental protection, and her work with AELA is examining the role of women in the rights of nature and climate change movements in Australia and internationally. Wamika is also the co-founder and host of the Legalladies podcast on Spotify.